Leaving Treadmarkz Across the Universe

Hallway Mindfulness, or “Oh No, Self, Don’t Be That Guy, Please Don’t Be That Guy!”

with 2 comments

by Treadmarkz

        In my office we have a lot of hallway corners, and I have already started to develop the reputation for coming around a corner too fast and almost making impact with a co-worker. Now, granted, when this happens, the other party is likely just as much at fault for going too fast. But there is always that insecurity as the guy in the wheelchair, that people are going to start saying “Hey, slow down there Speedy Gonzalez!” or something else similar to that. I don’t want to be “that guy” and I write this blog posting in the hopes that I will internalize this, and become more mindful in the hallways. At the same time it is something not to be taken too seriously, I know. So I try to remember it could happen to anyone. But when it happens a few times, I start to think I am becoming “That guy” in the office in the wheelchair. Speedy Gonzalez. Aargh!!! I really dislike that reputation. But I am the only one who can change it.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like it… I have used that before… once you externalize something like that, it somehow makes it something your mind takes note of and you keep track of. Like when my migraines are making me grumpy. If I apologize in advance, I tend not to be grumpy around a person. Of course at least if it is in the open, it isn’t festering. I hate finding out something I could have acted on has been festering in the background.

    dwpenner

    August 17, 2012 at 4:37 PM

    • Thanks for writing DW, that is another great example of what I am talking about and hopefully it will be helpful to many.

      treadmarkz

      August 17, 2012 at 4:59 PM


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

