Leaving Treadmarkz Across the Universe

Wheelchair Wrestling Federation

with 14 comments

by Treadmarkz

I am a big fan of World Wrestling Entertainment, formerly the World Wrestling Federation and World Championship Wrestling. I like to describe it as “The Colosseum meets Vaudeville, with a little bit of David Copperfield illusion thrown in.” I know it is fake, but I love to watch and wonder how they do it without killing each other. I have certain wrestlers that I root for, maybe because I see something in myself in the character that they play. But I would love to see a guy in a wheelchair get in the ring. A guy with a massive upper body, which got that way through years of just getting around, not through performance enhancing substances. And I would like to see one of the “Superstars” try to take him out of his chair, or take him on in an arm-wrestling match. I’ve seen some guys in chairs that could make that a pretty good match! There should be more than one wrestler in a wheelchair so they can take each other on. First one out of his chair is declared the loser of the bout. Hell, I think there should be an entire Wheelchair Wrestling Federation!

Their was a wrestler in the WWE with a disability around 2003-04. His name was Zach Gowen and he was a single amputee resulting from cancer in his left leg as a child. He competed on one leg, but he found very creative ways of using his particular method of locomotion to his advantage in the ring. Gowen continues to wrestle in other circuits today.

Other than Gowen, the closest thing to a disabled wrestler I can think of are those guys from the documentary “Murderball” (See the link under “Blogroll”, bottom right). Murderball is wheelchair rugby for quadriplegics, but it is really intense what the players put their bodies through. And it shows that people in wheelchairs can be just as passionate about pushing their bodies to their physical limits as anyone else.

Written by treadmarkz

January 15, 2008 at 6:56 PM

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am disabled, I have muscular dystrophy. I used to do amature, submission and pro wrestling, only ever trained. I made this video for You Tube thought you might be interested.

    Karl Edward Trotter

    July 22, 2008 at 2:52 PM

  2. Funny, man…very funny.

    treadmarkz

    July 22, 2008 at 8:22 PM

  3. I mean it isn’t too funny, because that is pretty much what I was looking for when I wrote this posting, but these guys are clearly screwing around.

    treadmarkz

    July 22, 2008 at 8:24 PM

  4. Hi
    I’m 24 disabled but i can walk and I would like to know how get involved in Wheelchair Wrestling Federation. I am from Northern Ireland and would love more information on the subject

    Mark

    July 25, 2008 at 3:24 PM

  5. Mark, I think we should start one. You said you can walk, though. So you’d have to stay in a chair or you’d get yourself disqualified.

    treadmarkz

    July 25, 2008 at 9:30 PM

  6. Okay. I’m only a begineer.

    Mark

    July 26, 2008 at 12:17 PM

  7. We can go for real, but it’s messy and a bit boring to watch. As a sport it wouldn’t work, however as sports entertainment it works to a degree.

    Karl Edward Trotter

    July 29, 2008 at 8:01 AM

  8. I have done a second wheelchair wrestling video.

    Karl Edward Trotter

    September 16, 2008 at 11:48 AM

  9. Yeah as sports entertainment it would work, but we wouldn’t want it to turn into a crippled freak side show.

    treadmarkz

    September 16, 2008 at 8:18 PM

  10. Yeah that YouTube vid is not quite what I had in mind. But I seriously think that as a sport it would work if the object were to get your opponent out of his chair. If the athletes participating were conditioned well enough and didn’t risk breaking themselves in half by coming out of their chairs.

    treadmarkz

    September 16, 2008 at 8:21 PM

  11. Hey guys, i’m not in a wheelchair, but i’d just like to say that there is no way that this sport would be boring, and the messyness would just add to the wheel chair based magic. seriously, write to a television network they’ll jump on it faster than white on rice. I offer my eternal support for your glorious sport, squidgy pants243

    Squidgy-pants243

    September 25, 2008 at 12:48 PM

  12. Hi i lost both of my legs in a quadbike mashup, and since then ive tried to forget my disability by getting involved in as many sports as possible, my paralysed girlfriend detestes my competitive streak, mistaking it for blind feudal rage. I think the world wrestling wheelchair federation would be a great way to release my inner tiger (hence my ename) and, truly, I would bring the rain. Amputiger out.

    amputiger

    September 25, 2008 at 12:57 PM

  13. I think Wheelchair Wrestling Federation I created would work, with a reasonably able bodied cast of characters, we could have varying levels of disabilites, for example I have muscular dystrophy so this would mean that our friend Amputiger, who my respect goes out to for having that blind feudal rage, sorry competitive streak, would have a whole lot more upper body strength than me. But is it not the same as Stevie Richards going up against Kane in terms of strengh. People like our friend Mark who also has my respect, would not be able to use his aility to walk, but then as a heel character it would be a great way to cheat. There is potential as a legitimate sport but then aspects like this would have to be taken under serious consideration. This has a great chance as a brand of Sports Entertainment however as wrestlers with varying degree of disability can fight ech other and the injury factors would be less also it would eliminate some of the messy slow spots. As you can see in my videos I have an able bodied helper, this is in traditional wrestling terms my manager, and him getting involved in the match would be expected. With a mix of able bodied characters managers, referee’s valets, etc.. along with our disabled wrestlers we would have a reasonably interesting show. We have cut some promos and an angle to go with the matches this gives you an idea of what the full package may look like.

    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=La8gcslyYmo

    We are going to do another match soon it will be a Last Man Sitting match.

    In response to Teadmarkz comment on us messing around, yes fair enough we are having fun but please sir do not underestimate how serious we were about making those videos look good and putting disabled people over in a positive and inspirational light. I have already had comments on my channel Dovito28 from a disabled kid who loves what we’ve done. When we created them they were for our own entertainment, but now people in countries all over the world know about WheelChair Wrestling Federation, and if we have made just one person happy or inspired then that makes it worth while, it wasn’t what we set out to do like I said it was for our own amusement.

    Thanks for the support squidgy pants_243.

    Karl Edward Trotter

    October 4, 2008 at 7:14 PM

  14. i have read this article and it got me thinking the premise of this idea isn’t such a bad one a company revolving around characters who are not 100% able bodied is a very unique idea and i think i could get over with an audience i am currently studying the wrestling business with the intention of promoting the first ever channel islands wrestling association card or CIWA but i do see that there should be and are loads of opportunities for less able bodied people to flourish in in the wrestling business

    dan

    October 27, 2010 at 6:48 AM


Leave a Reply

