Leaving Treadmarkz Across the Universe

The Many Reasons to Kick Soda Addiction…Where Do I Start?

leave a comment »

by Treadmarkz

I never thought I’d write a post like this. Never. You see, at the time of this writing, it is about 264 hours since the last time I drank a carbonated, sugary, syrupy beverage. Pop, soda, coke, soft drink. Whatever you call it in your corner of the world, I am done with it, I hope. And yes, I am in fact still counting the hours. But it’s been 11 days.

In a posting called “Scar Tissue”, I mentioned that I don’t feel like I eat the way I should. This got me thinking that I really did want to cut out drinking pop. I was already two days in at that point, so I did. As a disabled adult there are many benefits I can get from quitting. For instance, caffeine is classified as a diuretic which can cause more frequent urination than normal. For anyone with little or no sensation below the waist, or who is on a catheterization schedule, not drinking it can make your life easier, and free up some time for other things.

There is no scientific basis for the myth that the chemical Yellow 5 in things like Mountain Dew causes impotence in males, and even if there were, there is Y5 in a lot of foods, so it’s hard to avoid. So drinking pop won’t make reproduction even more complicated than it already can be for the disabled. The only impotence it did cause me was in my energy level. I swear I feel more energetic now. And I think it is because I am getting more oxygen because my throat is not so mucky from the syrup in pop. So maybe now I can go and do something about my gut. A lot of guys in wheelchairs get this same gut because we are most often in a sitting position, not working it out.

And then the big one: Sugar itself does not cause diabetes, but the inactive lifestyle that results from eating and drinking sugary stuff can, and diabetes can affect circulation, which can hamper healing. Like the healing of pressure sores or abrasions that people in wheelchairs are all too familiar with.

So quit, I say! It is hard to cut out all sugar from your diet, but to cut out the one source with the highest concentration of sugar, along with the caffiene and syrup, can only be to your benefit

Written by treadmarkz

January 22, 2008 at 5:29 PM

Leave a Reply

