Leaving Treadmarkz Across the Universe

Pushing Through the Snow in a No-Horse 4-Wheel Sleigh…

leave a comment »

by Treadmarkz

About five years ago, I lived alone and I had a job that was about 11 blocks from my home. I don’t drive, the buses didn’t run that late, and I was too stubborn to ask for the help of family members who I know now, and knew even then, would have been more than willing to help. But I am extremely stubborn. Always have been. So even in the winter, I would go out in the snow and plow my way on down the road to work, no matter how much it snowed. At the time I thought I was just being determined, and dedicated to my job. But as Paul McCartney said, “There is a fine line between recklessness and courage.”

* I would not recommend this to anyone, let me make that very clear. There is always a better way. I would recommend not being stubborn about asking for help if you need to get somewhere, which I am sure most level-headed people have already figured out for themselves. Thankfully I am older and wiser now.

However, as the snow has drifted in around me in the past weeks, I have longed for the days when I could easily go outside whenever and roll down the road maybe to pick up a new CD or just browse through the racks. That is a bit far now that it’s winter, but if you are in a wheelchair like me, you don’t have to be shut in completely when the flakes begin to fly. There is more to outdoor life in the winter than just getting too and from your car. If you are reasonably strong, and can get around under your own power, and if it is not too cold (don’t get sick in the name of exercise) it can be extremely envigorating just to take a trip down the block and back, in an inch or less of well-packed snow. It’s as simple as that. Don’t go too fast, and be careful of course. But just making your way over the minor bumps and dips can get the respiration going just enough to feel like you’ve had a good workout. Then go back indoors and have yourself a cup of hot chocolate or your favorite hot tea.

Written by treadmarkz

January 24, 2008 at 6:37 PM

Leave a Reply

