Leaving Treadmarkz Across the Universe

Taxman Tryin’ to Pull a Fast One?

leave a comment »

by Treadmarkz

My wife and I had our taxes done today, and on the form there was a question which read “Are you or your spouse permanently and totally disabled?” I have added the italic to stress the word “and”. I am permanently disabled, barring a miracle, but I am only paralyzed from the waist down, hardly total. I don’t think anybody with any disability, barring the comatose, would consider themselves totally disabled, and even then, not necessarily permanently. For this reason, I was tempted to check “No”, especially when the tax preparer told me that it wouldn’t make any difference in my refund whether I checked it “yes” or “no”.

But I wondered, why, if it makes no difference, does this question exist? And I doubted very much that the “yes” box was exclusively for the hopelessly comatose. Well, as fate would have it, it did make a difference, in my favor, to check that “Yes” box. So to anyone who is permanently or totally disabled, be sure to set technicalities aside and check “Yes” on this question.

And to the IRS, could we take a look at the wording on that one? It can make a world of difference.

Written by treadmarkz

March 2, 2008 at 5:35 AM

Leave a Reply

