Leaving Treadmarkz Across the Universe

Rick Renstrom – Britain’s Disabled Guitar Idol

with 2 comments

by Treadmarkz

As often as I can, when I am not sharing my own experiences and thoughts, I like to offer stories about other people with disabilities, to show what real people with disabilities are doing, what they are accomplishing, what they can accomplish.

Though I generally don’t like heavy blazing electric guitar solos, as a lover of rock music, I am very impressed with this man, Rick Renstrom‘s playing. Renstrom is a contestant on the U.K. television series “Guitar Idol” and he has a disability. He was either born with his arms/hands the way they are, or he maybe lost the business end of his arms, but was able to get his hands stitched back onto what remained. According to this blog posting, Renstrom gives no information on his disabilities. And I understand that. He wants to be known as a great guitar player, not a great guitar player “considering he is disabled.” And he really is just a great guitar player.

Plus he could be close to what I was looking for when I wrote the posting in this link.

In earlier postings I said how I wished that people with disabilities could just be known as someone who is great at what they do, not someone who is great at what they do considering they are disabled. But I think they best way to get to that point is to show that the talents of people with disabilities are equal and sometimes greater than those of others.

We’re getting there, people. Please comment your thoughts on whether blogs like this are productive in getting to that point. I have my opinion, I want to hear yours.

Check out the video at the bottom of the page in the first link above. For those of you who don’t like heavy metal, believe me, it is worth a listen, especially if you are an apiring guitar player.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Indeed, he is a great guitar player and I was embarrassed myself for that “considering he is disabled” part. He is great!

  2. Hey buddy, thank you for commenting. Don’t worry about the “considering he’s disabled” because honestly I wasnt even consciously thinking about that when I wrote what I wrote. I am just going by what I always here. I don’t think what you wrote is negative or contributing to unproductive feelings toward the disabled. It is amazing when someone is physically impairedimpared and they can do something “equal or better” than those who are not disabled, like I said. I just feel like we are on the path toward not needing language like that, and people like Renstrom do help.

    Glad you posted that vid.

    – Treadmarkz

    treadmarkz

    April 8, 2008 at 4:15 AM


Leave a Reply

