Leaving Treadmarkz Across the Universe

The Flaw in the System of Handicapped Bathroom Stalls and Handicapped Parking Spaces

with 5 comments

by Treadmarkz

From the outset of this blog, I promised myself not to make it a forum for complaining about non-disabled people using handicapped bathroom stalls and parking spaces. I still won’t. I did slip up a bit when I got on about the accessible public transportation, but that is a system that really needs to be looked into.

The bathroom stall/parking space issue is one that I just don’t feel too strongly about one way or the other. But I’ve figured out what I want to say about it, then I won’t write about it again other than to respond to comments.

I often hear it said that the handicapped stall is for the disabled, but if nobody disabled is in the bathroom, it is fair game. I could live with that if the same standard were applied to parking spaces. But it’s not. You can get a ticket and a fine for parking in a handicapped parking space without something on your car indicating that you (or someone with you) are disabled.

As long as that’s true, don’t you think that public bathrooms should have a police officer on guard to hand out tickets to non-disabled people who use the handicapped stall? While they are there, they could watch out for U.S. Senators committing “lewd acts” if the action on the accessible stall front is slow.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi,
    I mostly agree with the part about having a police monitor the handicap stall. I agree that people who don’t need the extra space shouldn’t be using it, because what if they are in there, and someone does come in that does need it. They have urgencies just like everyone else. Being a mom of small children tho, and in this day and age, those big stalls do come in handy when you need to use the bathroom and you don’t want to leave your other kids hanging around on the other side. You just don’t know who else could be in there, or what your kids could be doing. I try to be quick tho when I am in a handicap stall! And it does irritate me when people park in handicap spaces (it’s usually people that could benefit from a nice little walk) and I don’t see their handicap license or tag displayed.

    Shannon

    April 16, 2008 at 10:31 PM

  2. Hi Shannon,

    That makes sense, what you said. I am mostly talking about someone who just uses the handi-stall simply because they feel like it. The safety of one’s children is more important than any gripe anyone may bring up about handicapped stalls and parking.

    treadmarkz

    April 17, 2008 at 3:27 PM

  3. Here is a comment from someone called Mo that I think belongs under this posting: Thanks, Mo!

    “I think the general population is rather ignorant of the fact that if a person is disabled maybe they don’t have just all the time in the world to wait in line for the handicapped stall to be available.
    How to go about enlightening folks?”

    treadmarkz

    April 17, 2008 at 10:44 PM

  4. I am in a power chair and there is nothing more frustrating than having someone in the only handicapped stall while all of the other stalls are open.

    Due to my physical issues time is often an issue and it is more than humiliating to knock politely and inquire how long the stall will be occupied- making it clear that I MUST use that stall- only to have the person respond that they will be out when they are finished!

    Great- because she felt like the ‘larger’ stall was better my ostomy bag burst and I am left trying to clean myself up. Then the woman left the stall and made a disgusted sound when she realized that there was fecal matter all over everything.

    By all means use the stall if all of the other stalls are occupied- but if a person makes it clear that they are in dire need of the stall and it is the only one available to them- try to act like a human being and vacate it as quickly as possible!

    CBR

    March 17, 2009 at 9:25 PM

  5. Thank you for your frank and honest response CBR. It is always good to hear the personal stories that make these issues “matter”. I certainly empathize with your situation though I have never quite had that happen. But what you said makes sense as long as you made it perfectly clear that you’ve got no option and its an emergency situation.

    God help us all if we become so self centered as a people as the woman you described on the other side of that stall door.

    treadmarkz

    March 17, 2009 at 10:54 PM


Leave a Reply

