Leaving Treadmarkz Across the Universe

The 10 Commandments For the Newly Disabled

with 3 comments

by Treadmarkz

I have been told that with my experience being disabled, I should write a blog posting or a series of “how-to” postings for people who have become disabled, offering advice to them on what to expect and how to cope with and manage every day activities and chores. But I just can’t seem to gather my thoughts to the degree of thoroughness that I feel the topic deserves, if I am going to do it. That and having been in a chair all of my life, I am having a hard time figuring out how to describe doing things from a chair that one once did on two legs. It’s weird and it is complicated and anyone who is not in a chair or has ever been not in a chair probably doesn’t know what the Christ I am talking about. Alas, it is so. However, I did find a nifty list of 10 things (no list is worth a damn unless there are 10 things on it, y’ever notice that?) to keep in mind should you ever become disabled.

So without further delay, from “Disabled World”, I give you….the list.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great information even if you didn’t write it. Thanks for passing it on.

    Denise

    July 18, 2008 at 7:07 PM

  2. Dear Treadmarkz-

    I became disabled in 2001 but was able to continue to work with the use of many narcotic medications. However, the FDA has made it so that the main narcotic that I was taking to get by, is no longer available for individuals who do not have cancer as part of their diagnosis. With that being said,I am newly disabled in that I can no longer care for myself financially or mentally.

    I am not in a wheelchair but have had months on and off in a wheelchair do to the chronic pain I have. I have Fibromyalgia, degenerative disc disease and chronic pain as well as a host of other illnesses because of these first three.

    The biggest problem with my illnessness is that I “look”okay to most people,including my husband and that seems tomake it hard forpeople to believe me.

    I’m isolated , even though I have 6 children. Five children aren’t grown yet. If you are aware of any good support groups or individualsinmy area that I could somehow connect with,I would love it if you would opass on my information to them. Any helpful advice would be great as well. I can’t work and just staying home,isolated in pain,isn’t a good answer to living either.

    Thank you for your posting.

    Tricia

    September 13, 2008 at 5:38 AM

  3. Dear Tricia:

    Your comments above hit me like a ton of bricks as everything you wrote was eerily familiar and I would love to connect with you as almost everything you wrote is me to a tee.

    Besides my name being the same, I too have Fibromyalgia, degenerative disc disease and chronic pain. I too have six children but two are grown and four aren’t. I also was able to work after becoming disabled in 2001 after I to was using a medication that the FDA took away recently for those of use without cancer and that drug was Actiq or Fentanyl Lollipops. My wheelchair sits in a corner as I just don’t go out any more and I too am isolated. My illnesses seem unreal to everyone because I look “healthy” or “normal” including my husband.

    I give this site permission to pass on my e-mail address if you would like it to e-mail me.

    Thank you

    Tricia

    October 23, 2008 at 10:28 AM


Leave a Reply

