Leaving Treadmarkz Across the Universe

An Open Letter to the Disabled Population of Canada

with 3 comments

Dear Canada,

Every so often, when things are slow on this blog, I like to sit back and take stock of what is going on, what’s going well, what’s not, etc. And this time around I noticed something very strange. Treadmarkz.wordpress.com has a fairly even distribution of readership throughout the United States, is read just as heavily throughout Europe, and sporadically everywhere else that English is widely spoken or read. Australia, South Africa, Asia, Hawaii, and a thousand other exotic locales where English is not widely spoken, read or written.

Except for Canada.

Are there disabled people in Canada? Obviously…And I want you to know I’ve spent quite a lot of time in Winnipeg, Manitoba, and I know that they have a very good public transit situation for people in wheelchairs. It’s free, whereas in my hometown in the U.S. it can get pretty expensive.

But there must be quite a few disabled people in Winnipeg at least. I can’t say I have ever really met too many other people in wheelchairs, but I know they are there. And so, I am assuming such is the case in the other major Canadian cities; Toronto, Montreal (If they are still part of Canada this week), Vancouver, Edmonton, Ottawa, Calgary, etc.

So, disabled Canadians, where are you? I can’t tell you much more about accessibility in Canada other than what I just did. But I want to hear from you. The issues you are dealing with must be very much the same as the ones we deal with hear (except for your nice cushy public transit situation, you Winnipeggers!) But I would love to hear more about what it is to be a disabled person in Canada. I want to know that I am getting through to you.

See you soon.

Sincerely,

Treadmarkz

PS: God Save the Prime Minister

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey Tread,

    I don’t know much about your situation, but I can definitely understand that you deal with many different things than I or most people do. Anyway, I’ve always been a sucker for a few phrases:
    “if you can’t beat them, join them”
    “stop bitchin’ and do something about it” and
    “if the grass is greener…”
    My point is, maybe you should pick up and move, because I don’t see things getting any better.
    d

    damianj321

    July 3, 2008 at 11:34 PM

  2. No bitching going on here, sir.

    treadmarkz

    July 21, 2008 at 9:28 PM

  3. Merely trying to make a connection and learn more about something. But thank you for the love-it-or-leave-it.

    treadmarkz

    July 22, 2008 at 7:56 AM


Leave a Reply

