Leaving Treadmarkz Across the Universe

How To Run a Smear Campaign on Your Blog While Cutting Out the Self-Deprecating Nonsense

with 3 comments

by Treadmarkz

“Mindless nonsense”

“a blog about nothing”

“rambling, incoherent fluff”

“pointless yammering”

We’ve all seen them. They are taking over the blogosphere. Self-deprecating blogs written by bloggers who attempt to set themselves apart from the pack by insisting, right out in the open, in the title of their blog that they have nothing to say.

Unfortunately I think the whole mad cycle begins with WordPress itself. If you are a WordPress blogger you will remember that when you started your blog, before you gave it a proper title, the subtitle read “Just Another WordPress Weblog”, something like that. Some people have chosen to keep that sub-heading. Generic, lifeless, non-committal. Bloggers may start their blog with high hopes of putting on display their original opinions, concepts, and points of view, only to quickly find that they are just one of millions. And it quickly turns them negative. Why?

I mean, sure, we aren’t necessarily aspiring toward professional journalism here, but at least the goal should be credibility. Or at least to have a concrete point. This is not to say that these people actually are without a point or lack “something to say”. But these titles do not help convey that. Not at all.

God knows I am as self-defacing as the next guy in my everyday dealings with family, friends, etc. But this… I’ll give you an even better example. I saw a blog posting one time with the title “Don’t Even Bother Reading This.” You know what I did? I didn’t read it.

It reminds me of the “negative campaigns” that U.S. Presidential candidates are often accused of running against each other. Only in this case, bloggers are using these smear tactics against themselves. If you are going to do it, I say why not do it to smear your competition? To bring into question the credibility of a blogger who runs a blog similar to yours?

For example, on this blog, I usually discuss a wide variety of disabilities, usually focusing on issues regarding those of us in wheelchairs. So, suppose I decided to run my smear campaign against “Disabilities Blog X”. In that case, I might say “Disabilities Blog X: They haven’t got a leg to stand on.”

It would take something much better than that, I am sure, but you get the idea. And, no, that slogan would not be self-deprecating just because I am in a wheelchair myself. I am merely using what I know about my competition and spinning it to my advantage.

How about “Disabilities Blog Y: At Least It’s Not Mindless Rambling Rubbish Like Disabilities Blog X.”

Well now that I’ve shown you the way, stop smearing yourselves, and get out there in the blogosphere and play to win! And, you know, don’t go making any enemies, for God’s sake, but set yourself apart from the rest

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for your comment. However I chose to remain “non-committal”. As my blog is just for fun and I want to talk about the noise of the day and not focus in on 1 particular subject.

    It is only for friends to go to and see what our thoughts of the day are. It just gives them something to do while they are at work. So again thanks for the comment, however I don’t think we will change our focus (or lack there of)

    Andy

    August 5, 2008 at 7:36 AM

  2. Fair enough, Andy. I understand that some people are not doing this for the general public. I was really just setting up for my broader point, which is about using smear tactics. Which itself is all in fun.

    treadmarkz

    August 5, 2008 at 10:40 AM

  3. Oh, Thanks! Really interesting. Greets.

    BigBan

    August 16, 2008 at 3:55 PM


Leave a Reply

