Leaving Treadmarkz Across the Universe

Furious Male Liberal Defends Sarah Palin AND Her Baby

with 6 comments

by Treadmarkz

I am not a fan of Sarah Palin’s political views overall, but ever since her introduction as McCain’s running mate at the RNC, she has been taking a lot of crap because she had her baby son Trig, who has Down Syndrome, at the convention. Because of this, I can no longer remain silent on the issue. A few things are being said in the media about her little guy’s appearance on the National Stage that are really getting me steamed.

1. That having him at the convention was a political stunt to demonstrate how “pro-life” she is. Just because 80% of women who find out their unborn baby has Down Syndrome have an abortion according to this story does not mean that keeping your baby makes you any more of a saint than anyone else. After all, it is your baby we are talking about, not an everyday inconvenience that one chooses how to dispose of. I think Palin had her baby at the convention because he is a part of her family and she was introducing herself, and her family, to the country. Case closed.

2. By making the above into such a big time news story, the media made it seem as though not having an abortion in a similar situation would be noteworthy, somehow. Following through with a pregnancy which you know will result in a child with a disability is not a pro-life thing, it’s not a Christian thing, it’s not a Republican or Conservative thing. It is about love, and we all have that in us somewhere. Even us God damned baby killer pagan liberal Democrats!

3. One doctor went so far as to express concern that Palin’s example will lead other expectant mothers NOT to abort when the expected child is found to have a disability! What the Hell? Look, I have spina bifida, I know what a handful my disability was as a child, but there is always HELP one can gain through doctors (if they know what they are talking about), family members, the community, etcetera. And this is not even an issue of taking away people’s CHOICE. It is an issue of giving a baby with a disadvantage a CHANCE.

This doctor is worried that the mothers of fetuses with Down Syndrome will not be prepared to take care of the child. Well, I doubt very much that my own mother grew up training all her life to have a baby with spina bifida. Mothers who have children with disabilities find ways to cope with the circumstances they are given, and they do so out of love, the greatest power in the world. The greatest human quality. And Sarah Palin is a human being.

All of the negative attitudes toward Palin having this baby will reinforce the misconception that having a child with a disability is beyond the average human being. It encourages abortion of “imperfect” children. I am not going to get into the pro-life/choice argument because it’s a dead end as far as I can see. I am just using my own life experience here. I am pro-chance, my friends. Making her out to be either a saint or simply irresponsible will only serve the point of view that the chance to life should not be given so freely.

And quite frankly these attitudes have me really concerned coming from fellow liberals. Do they realize they are reinforcing every stereotype that conservatives have toward them and hold to be so repugnant? No wonder Barack Obama is losing so many supporters, even though he has absolutely nothing to do with this.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sad!
    I liked Mother Teresa too, but never as a vice-president.
    Palin is already under investigation for abuse of power.
    That’s even BEFORE she takes office!
    Gotta hand it to the GOP for hutzpa!

    christianliberal

    September 15, 2008 at 12:07 AM

  2. tredmarkz,

    Thanks for sending this link to me via stumbleupon (ap0616). I absolutely agree that the her treatment by the media in regard to Trig has been reprehensible. However, I can’t fault Obama for this, and I’ll continue support him.

    As for Palin, I find her family life admirable, but from what I’ve seen & read she just isn’t the politician that the GOP is packaging her as.

    AP
    pastinprint.com

    Aaron Pendell

    September 15, 2008 at 7:34 AM

  3. No you are right, she is not the politician that she is being made out to be, but I am only saying that as a person, she’s doing the right thing, and somehow the liberal extremists have found a way to turn it around on her. Wow I can’t believe I am ranting on the “liberal extremists”. But we have to admit that there are extremists on both sides.

    treadmarkz

    September 15, 2008 at 9:39 PM

  4. You are right on with this. I have a 1 year old with Spina Bifida. I am not a saint, I am a mom. I like your use of pro-chance. I can say I am 100% pro-chance. I was frankly surprised to see the media making such a big deal about this. Trig is just a little baby. Disabilities happen, the media needs to get over it.

    Christina

    September 16, 2008 at 2:41 PM

  5. Hi Christina,

    Thank you for dropping by my blog and leaving the comment backing up my point about Sarah Palin and the media. It was really great for me to see that I had gotten through to someone like you who is in the same situation Palin is in, so I know you understand how silly the whole thing is, and I know you understand the fury I feel for the whole thing. Good to hear you’ve got such a healthy attitude about being the mother of a child with spina bifida. Believe me, your child will grow up to appreciate it to an infinite degree.

    treadmarkz

    September 16, 2008 at 8:12 PM

  6. she is not politician at all.

    network marketing company

    September 29, 2008 at 7:05 AM


Leave a Reply

