Leaving Treadmarkz Across the Universe

My Wheelchair Is My Car…and Yeah, I Beat the Hell Out of It

with 3 comments

by Treadmarkz

       Well, ladies and gentlemen, after years and years with this old piece of metal, plastic and upholstery, I am finally going to get a new wheelchair. Well, let’s not be hasty, actually. On October 3 I am going to see my doctor to see if I can get a prescription for a new wheelchair. I am hoping that:

       1. the fact that my current chair has no working breaks

       2. the upholstery on the backrest is worn out and exposed metal is touching my shoulder blades

       3. one of my tires is worn away to what’s under the rubber in one small area

       4. one of my tires is separating from the wheel in a small area

       5. my front casters wobble

       6. the shaft in which my caster is mounted is supposed to be capped by I lost that cap a long time ago, and haven’t found anything that will stay on it, and in the winter it gets wet and rusty in there and sometimes the caster does not turn properly

       7. several spokes are loose or bent on both wheels

               and

       8. it’s filthy

         will be sufficient reasons to warrant a new chair. I was told last year by Medical Assistance that the chair would have to be unfixable in order to get a new chair. In other words it couldn’t just be something that could simply be replaced. I told them that would leave me without a chair if it was unfixable, but these reasons combined should add up to a situation where it would be easier just to start fresh with a new chair.

         I am looking for something that is sporty but not too much so. I am not really an “athlete” but I am active. I do wear out the tires. I want something lightweight and easily trasportable since my wife and I have a Ford Taurus. The one I have has removable wheels and the backrest folds down, and I think I’d like to stick with something like that.

         Any suggestions?

         Wish me luck.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Theres only one way to say it, your old chair is GHETTO….

    2LessLegs

    September 19, 2008 at 5:30 PM

  2. And oh yea suggestion for a chair, I think the best chair on the market right now is the Quickie Ti. Its the lightest chair on the market (which is my #1 selling point), the backrest folds, wheels come off, its by far the easiest chair to get in and out of a car. And if you are doing this through insurance, just tell them you have bad shoulders and you need a lightweight chair, they won’t fight it.

    2LessLegs

    September 19, 2008 at 5:32 PM

  3. Good point 2LessLegs, and that is precisely why it is time for a new chair. Last time I got a new one, MA would not spring for a Quickie. You’d think if they are worried about the cost then they’d want to give you the quality chair so it lasts, right. Not so. But we’ll see, maybe things have changed lately. As you can see from my list, it’s been a LONG time.

    treadmarkz

    September 22, 2008 at 8:45 PM


Leave a Reply

