Leaving Treadmarkz Across the Universe

Rethinking the ReWalk

with 8 comments

by Treadmarkz

I have been giving it a lot of thought, and though the ReWalk is still in its developmental stage as far as I am concerned, it does press me to consider what would be the one thing that would make me really, really wish that I could walk.

As my wife and I were driving through the countryside on our way home from my parents’ house today, I think I hit on the answer. The only reason I would ever really want to walk would be to be able to walk with my wife through the hills around my home town in the fall. The colors of course are beautiful (in fact sometimes the combination of colors can feel like something unearthly) and the hills are filled with endless mystery that is uncovered for the most part when the leaves begin to fall. But you can never quite uncover the mysteries of life unless you get right up close and personal with the things around you.

There is so much natural history I am missing. I know there is a ton of man-made history that I am missing out on by not being able to get into historic sites, but I’ve commented on that before.

Well, we can’t just make God, or the gods if you please, answerable to the Americans with Disabilities Act and all of a sudden have the hills, mountains, streams and valleys accessible to people in wheelchairs, now, can we? As I think that the point of this posting is to tell people with disabilities not to let any part of life pass you by because of your disability, for now, I may have to look into some off-road wheelchair options.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just curious, could you ride a 4 wheeler?
    a bike of any sort?
    gm

    gm

    September 21, 2008 at 10:55 PM

  2. Hi GM thanks for stopping. Yes I could ride a four-wheeler, but I am thinking of a nice, quiet walk surrounded by nature. So the four-wheeler is out. But yeah I could get one of those tricycles

    treadmarkz

    September 21, 2008 at 11:04 PM

  3. Yo TMZ,

    Just got back from a long weekend in the Redwood Empire, Northern California hiking old-growth redwood groves and coastal wetlands. A well kept trail is surprisingly accessible to a mobile wheeler. Just depends on the trail and terrain. None of the trails I was on were listed as specifically accessible but were still wheel-able. You’d be surprised. Though its slow going sometimes, you can make it. And of course most states have several trails specifically adapted for wheelchair use.

    Here is a site for MN: http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/open_outdoors/trails/index.html

    A couple of tips for finding trails that could still be accessible: Accessible listed trails, Bicycle trails, Day hike trails.

    Also, bring someone with you. Having a helpful push handy makes difficult trails possible. There are alternatives too. Anything on the water can get you to inaccessible places. Try canoeing. Scenic drives and alternatives can be good too to get to remote places. Often there are short trails heads along these drives too. Check your State Park’s webpage.

    Peace

    DW

    September 22, 2008 at 1:31 PM

  4. Hey DW,

    First off, don’t ever, EVER call me TMZ again. Ever. I know where you live.

    Second, thanks for the tips. I will look into all of them at some point I am sure. Like I said before I would want this walk to be as natural as possible without a motorized vehicle making all sorts of noise and such. I would want to really get in there and see what’s going on in those woods but there is certainly nothing wrong with staying on the trail.

    treadmarkz

    September 22, 2008 at 8:23 PM

  5. …and actually, when I get my new chair, which should be within a month or so, it will be such a step up in quality that I will probably feel like I am driving a tank or at least a humvee, so I’ll probably just go in my chair.

    treadmarkz

    September 22, 2008 at 8:27 PM

  6. Just a reminder: Hiker’s etiquette is that you always stay on designated trails.

    DW

    September 22, 2008 at 11:27 PM

  7. Why is it that so many of us able bodied folks take for granted all the wonderful opportunities of the world around us. Maybe because we always think we can just do it whenever we want, if we so choose because for the moment at least, we have no barriers. No guarentees on that though! You always inspire me to get out and smell the roses!!

    Jo

    September 26, 2008 at 11:37 PM

  8. Regarding trails in national parks that are accessible to a wheelchairs, bumpy or smooth, there are very few. At least there are some and the smooth ones are fairly new. In Olympic National Park (Washington state) there is the temperate rain forest, the Hoh rainforest. It has one trail that is mostly smooth and partially paved called “the hall of mosses”. For as long of a trek as it is to get out to Forks, it is worth the beauty if you are ever in western washington. http://www.nps.gov/olym/planyourvisit/visiting-the-hoh.htm,
    http://www.nps.gov/olym/parknews/hall-of-mosses-trail-temporarily-closed-for-bridge-replacement.htm,http://www.nps.gov/olym/planyourvisit/upload/Hoh.pdf

    While sometimes terrain makes an accessible trail very difficult, most places could do more and still be eco-friendly.

    Megan

    February 20, 2012 at 6:05 PM


Leave a Reply

