Leaving Treadmarkz Across the Universe

Wheelchairs Anonymous

with 6 comments

by Treadmarkz

I went the other day to pick out my new wheelchair, and to fill out the paperwork for the wheelchair dealer to send in to the State of Minnesota so I could get my request approved by Medical Assistance, and two things stuck out, for me.

First thing: I had to get a prescription for my wheelchair. Why? I am clearly disabled and in need of an alternative method of locomotion. My legs won’t cut it. Why do I need proof that I need a chair? Are there people who are abusing wheelchairs? Are people overdosing on wheelchairs? Is there some illegal underground trafficking of wheelchairs that I don’t know about? Well, okay, with this one, if more people lose their social security, and MA and all that, this may happen. But as far as I know, this has not become an issue.

And secondly, when I was filling out the paperwork, I was asked my Social Security # and my MA card’s number, of course, and my address and phone number so they could contact me, of course. But then, out of the blue, Question #5 read, verbatim: “What is your role in society?” I thought “What the bloody hell?” I didn’t know where to start. But I knew what they were getting at. Again they don’t want to be giving away wheelchairs to just any bum off the street! You never know what the hell they’ll do with ’em! So I told them about my job where I am in a hectic office environment where I put on a lot of miles, not to mention the fact that I have a life and occasionally I, imagine this, go places!

But I didn’t need that. It’s National Disabled Employment Awareness Month for cryin’ out loud, and they want to know why I need a functional wheelchair? They don’t ask walkies that question when they buy a pair of shoes, do they? Nope. Just us.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. grrrrr, I guess!!
    You said that people are losing their SS and MA benefits,
    could you elaborate on that?
    gm

    gm

    October 10, 2008 at 9:57 PM

  2. Well it seems like if we are not careful Social Security could be on its way out, and SSI will not be fare behind it. I am already paying IN to SSI even though I am legitimately disabled, because of an supposed “overpayment” and I am still bitter about that. I wouldn’t be surprised if government cuts take my MA away too.

    treadmarkz

    October 10, 2008 at 11:00 PM

  3. These injustices need to be put to a halt. My friend and I were on the Metrolink train headed to Downtown Los Angeles. My friend (who has braces on his legs) got a disabled ticket and I got the regular one. (My friend also has bell’s palsy and talks in a slower fashion then “regular” people) The conductor asks for his disabled card. Unfortunately, my friend was not carrying it on him at that time. So the conductor asks, “How do I know you are not lying to me?” So my friend shows him his braces, and he is still thought we were trying to test the system.

    Ricky

    January 29, 2010 at 12:21 AM

  4. Hang in there, tomorrow will be a brighter day.

    marcelino

    February 2, 2010 at 7:56 PM

  5. “They don’t ask walkies that question when they buy a pair of shoes, do they? Nope. Just us”

    Walkies are not asking for assistance in paying for their shoes from the state…

    When you buy shoes (assuming you wear them) do they bother you about paperwork? No. Its not about you being a differently-abled person, its about the cost and the role of the state in the purchase of your chair.

    Walkiethatworkswithwheelies

    March 18, 2010 at 2:07 PM

  6. Fair enough.

    treadmarkz

    March 19, 2010 at 9:32 AM


Leave a Reply

