Leaving Treadmarkz Across the Universe

A Cure For Pity

with one comment

by Treadmarkz

I love this ad that Gillette Children’s Specialty Healthcare is running. The theme is “Pity. It’s 100% Curable.” I think the ad hits the subject from the right angle.

I love it because I went to Gillette myself as a very young child with spina bifida and it was at that stage in my life when it was most crucial that I found out for myself that yes I had a disability and no there was no changing it, and that the only thing that needed adjusting was the way I saw myself and the way I worked with what I had. Of course I did not think of it in those words exactly, when I was five. But you get the idea.

And this ad works on more than one level really. It addresses the pity that the disabled child might feel for himself, and it also speaks to the fact that once that child cures his self-pity, he can start showing the world around him that there is absolutely no reason to pity him, nor is there, in fact, any room or time for pity. He’s got a life to start living.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I found this post through alltop btw, and I’m glad I did! I’m a fellow former Gilletter as well! I saw this campaign awhile ago, but I think the videos of each of the kids are new since then. Thanks!

    Cheryl

    December 9, 2008 at 9:28 PM


Leave a Reply

