Leaving Treadmarkz Across the Universe

I Got My First Quickie Today

with 6 comments

by Treadmarkz

I knew that titled would get ya. Anyway, if you don’t know, Quickie is one of the most popular brand names in wheelchairs, and they are rather expensive. In fact, I have found that it is hard to get Medical Assistance to cover one. But I got one. I guess they were feeling generous, as it is nearly Christmas. So I am back in business. Not a second too soon either. One of my wheels was just about ready to come off, and it was just a pile a garbage in general. Anyway I feel healthier already.
I spent last night reminiscing about the 8 years or so that I spent with my old wheelchair, with the song “Two of Us” by the Beatles as a backdrop.

“Two of us riding nowhere spending someone’s hard-earned pay” (Okay my wheelchair always hated that line because it felt like the song was pointing out that the only reason I had it was through Medical Assistance which was funded by tax payers. I reassured my wheelchair by reminding it that I am a tax-payer too.)

“Two of us Sunday driving, not arriving on our way back home”
“You and I have memories longer than the road that stretches out ahead.”

I am not going to miss my old wheelchair. It will be recycled post haste.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congrats on your new wheelchair!

    easystand

    December 17, 2008 at 5:23 PM

  2. So glad to hear you finally got your new chair. With little tread to spare, sparks soon would have been coming off your bare wheels!! Hope you are totally happy with it! Remember your chair is like some of us getting a new pair of boots or shoes, so go ahead and throw the old one out ~ Merry Christmas!!

    Jo

    December 17, 2008 at 10:41 PM

  3. How do you recycle an old wheelchair?

    gm

    December 17, 2008 at 11:32 PM

    • Good question, GM, I don’t know the entire process that is involved but I know that a wheelchair is mostly metal and plastic and each of those is recyclable so they break it down into its component parts and melt it down, and off ya go.

      treadmarkz

      December 18, 2008 at 12:57 PM

  4. So you don’t donate it?
    Or whatever is left of it?
    Just curious really.

    gm

    December 18, 2008 at 8:30 PM

  5. That was another option, but I think if I did, the person who got it would have to deal with replacing the wheels. Not sure if I donated it, if it would have been made “like new”. And the wheels were in pretty tough shape let me tell you!

    treadmarkz

    December 18, 2008 at 10:20 PM


Leave a Reply

