Leaving Treadmarkz Across the Universe

Go and Watch “Avatar”

with 3 comments

by Treadmarkz

Like I said in the title of this posting, go and watch James Cameron’s new movie, Avatar if you haven’t already. It is not ALL hype. Not all. It is a great movie, with some mind bending scenes, colors, action, etc. Not the most groundbreaking screenplay or overall plot, and there is certainly a lot of non-very-well-veiled anti-war propaganda. But all things considered the movie is great. And it’s not racist, despite what some people are saying. I don’t know how some people jump to that conclusion whenever a movie involves civilizations of a different color (The Na’vi, who are blue). If anything the movie is taking a stand against one of its own characters who considers the Na’vi to be inferior because of their non-European-like culture.

I will try not to spoil anything, but you can see from the preview that a man in a wheelchair, Jake, walks again by becoming one of the Na’vi, right? Well, okay, seeing him become an avatar and walk on two legs for the first time since becoming disabled, and talking about it with my wife on the way home from the movie, it FORCED ME to admit that while I don’t pine away to be able to walk, if I did one day find myself able to, I ADMIT that I would react the same way this man did. By running. And like him, I’d probably keep running for a while.

When I first saw the preview, I thought the movie might have something to do with the Hindu avatars of God (Krishna, Vishnu, etc) because they are always portrayed with blue skin. But it has nothing to do with that, except that in Hinduism, avatars are said to come to help humanity when we need to be reminded why we are here, OR we are being overcome by evil forces, which is just what the character Jake ends up doing for the Na’vi. But they are all blue themselves, so the reference gets lost.

Anyway, go see the movie and let me know what you thought. Or if you’ve seen it, let me know what you thought.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I know that I plan on seeing this moving and hope to before it leaves the theatres! I like movies that make you think and sometimes even action movies can do that. I heard that there is lots to think of in this movie beyond any simple action movie.
    ~ Dusty

    Dusty

    December 29, 2009 at 11:39 PM

  2. While the idea of growing avatar is a bit spooky, I do wonder where we will be in 10 to 25 years. I do hope that my diabetic neuropathy can be reversed so that I can take advantage of being lighter in weight than I ever have and hike and even run.

    dwpenner

    December 29, 2009 at 11:48 PM

  3. I thought I might come back after having seen the movie finally! I loved it.

    I do see what they mean that there is more than an action movie happening here. There are a number of things happening that create a depth and addressing a number of different issues. One is the treatment of indigenous peoples of lands with important resources. Another is the effect of technology on ecosystems. Others have to do with morality versus duty to an armed service or country. There are more issues being looked at as well.

    The technology being looked at is not far from what we can do – other than getting to another planetary system in 6 months.

    …I do wonder, what if they did have to build you a new body to cure what ails you? How do you know that body is vacant?

    dwpenner

    January 28, 2010 at 7:26 PM


Leave a Reply

