Leaving Treadmarkz Across the Universe

Wow! Joan Rivers Actually Knows A Bit About Spina Bifida! Hmm…

with 2 comments

by Treadmarkz

Joan Rivers was the first female to (guest) host the Tonight Show. She has been very influential in comedy for the last couple of generations. I give her a lot of credit for that. She could have been the female equivalent of George Carlin. But I don’t currently see her as such, when I see her on every “red carpet event” my wife watches. I find her hard to listen to and I don’t particularly find her humor all that thoughtful, as I do Carlin’s.

So why do I respect her at the moment? I just watched a bit of her fashion-themed talk show with my aforementioned wife, and she was critiquing a dress that some celebrity had recently been seen in public wearing which had a wide-open back. Joan Rivers commented that “You don’t have a wide-open back like that unless you have spina bifida!”

I was impressed because, quite simply, hardly anyone I ever talk to seems to have any idea what the symptoms of spina bifida are. Though this comment was not necessarily funny, she did accurately describe my condition, at birth. She proved to me that she’d done her homework while writing her jokes.

So I cannot believe I am saying this, but well played, Joan Rivers. Well played. I salute you. Until the next thing I hear you say. 😉

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I watched her verbal match on Donald Trump’s Apprentice and knowing how one’s personality with few rude qualities can come forward, was shocked to see hers! Somehow, I had expected her to take the higher roads, just like Shirley McLaine!! It was disappointing….so see that she was not at all spiritual. Glad to note Joan Rivers has the medical knowledge which I did not expect either, taking into consideration how much money she has wasted to ruin her naturla beauty thru plastic surgeries! 😉

    bhatpai

    April 28, 2012 at 5:54 PM

  2. Its really just important that true, unskewed knowledge about the disorder is getting out in unexpected places.

    treadmarkz

    April 28, 2012 at 8:52 PM


Leave a Reply

