Leaving Treadmarkz Across the Universe

Child Banned From Using Walker at School

with 2 comments

by Treadmarkz

Below is a link to a story about LaKay Roberts, a child with cerebral palsy who is physically able to use a walker. But her school is trying to ban her from using it, citing concerns that she will fall in the hall and get hurt. I am in a wheelchair but when I was in school, I was able to strap in to a full body brace and use a walker. And I fell occasionally. But that was the worst that happened. Because you know what I did after I fell? I got up. When I was in school and I had my daily physical therapy session which included my “walking” in my braces and walker/crutches, I had a therapist or teacher or classmate who walked with me. Are you telling me this school can’t afford to give that much to this child so that she might have the opportunity to develop a certain degree of independence. Independence does not come easy. It requires that we first depend on another. That we have someone to lean on, someone to help us up when we fall. Because as we strive for independence, it will inevitably happen. We fall. But we get back up. And when we do, we are that much closer to freedom.

Here is the link to which I am referring.  Let me know what you think.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This may be happening only in a Republican state right now, wait till we have a Republican president….that will be the case in all states. I can only see doom and gloom with what I have heard so far from the Republican debate. Can you make sense out of man roaming around free after killing an unharmed man? The more I see what is happening in Republican states, I am frightened of our society taking backward steps just like the terrorist countries in the middle east.

    bhatpai

    March 30, 2012 at 10:47 AM

  2. The school needs to consult their legal counsel – or hire competent counsel. What needs to be pointed out here is the failings of “use it or lose it” – check out how older perople with CP face problems as a direct result of this sort of striving for normalcy…

    VM Gillen

    April 11, 2012 at 12:30 PM


Leave a comment